What is meant by trackday ?

A trackday (or track day) means a day of driving on a racetrack. It’s a friendly day between enthusiasts, to have fun, to take full advantage of the capabilities of your car in a suitable secure environment (a racetrack) and to improve your driving skills. It requires modesty of yourself, respect for the established rules and absolute respect for others, with the desire to bring home a head full of memories and – with the exception of tires and brakes – a car in the same colour and the same shape as at the beginning of the day. It has nothing to do with a race day. All organizers will constantly remind it !

A trackday is not to be confused with a testday, which is a day reserved for professional teams and racing cars. But a trackday and a testday are sometimes combined on the same day; the organizer then makes two or three separate groups (also called sessions or stints).

TYPES OF TRACKDAYS

Except special days (training, coaching,…), there are two types of trackdays:
open pitlane : each driver can enter the track when he wants throughout the day (except if there are already too many cars on the track).
session/series/groups/stints : each driver is assigned to a group (e.g.: group 1 = rookies, group 2 = advanced or group 1 = road homologated GTs, group 2 = racing cars, group 3 = formulas/karts) and he has to drive in the time slots assigned to his group (approx. 20 to 40 minutes of driving per session).

GENERAL TERMS OF PARTICIPATION

a/ driver
– have registered for the day by completing the appropriate forms and paying for the registration fee
– have signed the release of liability towards the organizer and the circuit
– except in exceptional cases, be at least 18 years of age and have a valid driver’s license
– wear a full-face helmet or jet
– wear appropriate clothing * (ideal : gloves, boots, overalls)
– participate in the drivers’ briefing and have received the wristband to enter the track
⇒ all the headings of the chapter “information/advice” are complementary and specially written for drivers !

b/ passenger/co-driver
– in principle, be at least 16 years old
– wear a full-face helmet or jet
– wear appropriate clothing (* long pants and long-sleeved t-shirt are often mandatory !)
– participate in the drivers’ briefing and have received the passenger/co-driver wristband

c/ accompanying
– comply with the rules and instructions of circuit officials, marshals, organizers, instructors or drivers
– have clothes adapted to the expected weather conditions (heat, rain, wind, …)
– in principle, take part in the drivers’ briefing

d/ car
– car in perfect condition (body, tires, brakes, fluids, …)
– sportscar (or racing car) respecting the anti-noise standards of the circuit
– valid liability insurance or sign one for the trackday
– have installed one (or two) tow hook before entering the track (mandatory !)
– have installed the required stickers on the windshield and/or sides of the car
⇒ seel also next chapter “advice/reminder for the car”

RATES

The prices charged may vary greatly from one organizer to another and from one track to another. The general principle to remember is that the larger and better known the track is, the more expensive it is to rent. The price also depends on the type of trackday (limited number of cars, services offered,…) and of course on the margin taken by the organizer. Thus the rates can go from 150 to 350 euros/day for a small circuit (often with a large mix of cars and drivers) to more than 1000 euros/day for exclusive events on large known circuits. The average rate charged by an organizer for a trackday on one of the major European circuits is between 350 and 700 euros/day.

Adding the other expenses (fuel, tires, brakes, travel, meals, hotel, …) a trackday is not cheap. It must be admitted that motorsport is a relatively expensive leisure activity and that it is necessary to devote a certain budget to it. But saving on the condition of your car, tires or brakes is the worst calculation to do. For obvious safety reasons, the organizers and the marshals will not let a suspicious car enter the track.

Qu’entend-on par trackday ?

Un trackday (ou track day) signifie une journée de roulage sur circuit. C’est une journée conviviale entre passionnés, pour se faire plaisir, pour profiter pleinement des capacités de sa voiture dans un environnement adéquat sécurisé (un circuit automobile) et pour améliorer ses compétences à la conduite sportive. Elle engendre modestie de soi, respect des règles établies et respect absolu d’autrui, avec la volonté de ramener à la maison une tête pleine de souvenirs et – à l’exception des pneus et des freins – une auto dans le même état qu’à l’aller. Ce n’est en aucun cas une journée de course, tous les organisateurs vous le martèleront !

Un trackday n’est pas à confondre avec un testday (ou essais course) qui est une journée réservée aux teams professionnels et aux voitures de course. Mais un trackday et un testday sont parfois réunis lors d’une même journée; l’organisateur effectue alors deux ou trois groupes séparés (appelés aussi sessions ou stints).

TYPES DE TRACKDAYS

Sauf journées particulières (formation, coaching,…), il y a deux types de trackdays :
– les journées en open pitlane : chaque pilote peut entrer en piste quand il le veut tout au long de la journée (sauf s’il y a déjà trop de voitures en piste).
– les journées en sessions/séries/groupes/stints : chaque pilote est attribué à un groupe (exemples : groupe 1 = pilotes débutants, groupe 2 = pilotes confirmés ou alors groupe 1 = GT homologuées route, groupe 2 = voitures de course, groupe 3 = formules/karts) et il doit rouler dans les créneaux horaires impartis à son groupe (env. 20 à 40 minutes de roulage par session).

CONDITIONS GENERALES DE PARTICIPATION

a/ pilote
– s’être inscrit à la journée en ayant rempli les formulaires adéquats et payé l’inscription
– avoir signé la décharge en responsabilité envers l’organisateur et le circuit
– sauf exception, avoir 18 ans révolus et être en possession d’un permis de conduire valable
– porter un casque intégral ou jet
– porter des habits adéquats * (idéal : gants, bottines, combinaison)
– participer au briefing des pilotes et avoir reçu le bracelet permettant d’entrer en piste
⇒ toutes les rubriques du chapitre “infos/conseils” sont complémentaires et spécialement rédigées à l’intention des pilotes !

b/ passager/copilote
– en principe avoir 16 ans révolus
– porter un casque intégral ou jet
– porter des habits adéquats (* pantalons longs et t-shirt longues manches sont de plus en plus obligatoires !)
– participer au briefing des pilotes et avoir reçu le bracelet de copilote/passager

c/ accompagnant
– se conformer aux règlements et instructions des responsables du circuit, des commissaires, des organisateurs, des instructeurs ou des pilotes
– avoir des habits adaptés aux conditions météo prévues (chaleur, pluie, vent,…)
– en principe, participer au briefing des pilotes

d/ voiture
– voiture en parfait état (carrosserie, pneus, freins, liquides,…)
– voiture de sport (ou voiture de course) respectant les normes anti-bruit du circuit
– assurance RC valable ou en signer une pour le trackday
– avoir installé un (ou deux) crochet de remorquage avant d’entrer en piste (obligatoire !)
– avoir installé les stickers requis sur le parebrise et/ou sur les côtés de la voiture
⇒ voir aussi les autres rubriques de ce chapitre !

TARIFS

Les tarifs pratiqués peuvent varier fortement d’un organisateur à un autre et d’un circuit à un autre. Le principe général à retenir est que plus le circuit est grand et connu, plus il est (très) cher à la location. Le tarif dépend aussi du type de trackday (nombre limité de voitures, prestations offertes,…) et naturellement de la marge prise par l’organisateur. Ainsi les tarifs peuvent aller de 150 à 350 euros/jour pour un petit circuit (avec souvent un grand mix de voitures et de pilotes) à plus de 1000 euros/jour pour des events exclusifs sur des grands circuits connus. Le tarif moyen demandé par un organisateur sur un grand circuit européen se situe entre 350 et 700 euros/jour.

En y ajoutant les autres frais (essence, pneus, freins, déplacements, repas, hôtel,…) une journée sur circuit n’est pas bon marché. Il faut admettre que le sport automobile est un loisir relativement onéreux et qu’il faut y consacrer un certain budget. Economiser sur l’état de sa voiture, de ses pneus ou de ses freins est le pire calcul à faire. Pour des raisons évidentes de sécurité, les organisateurs et les commissaires ne laisseront pas entrer en piste une voiture douteuse.